Fascinating World

Frauental – A Village in Southern Austria

Jan 12, 2017

Frauental is a tiny municipality of less than 3000 inhabitants in the Austrian Federal State of Styria, district of Deutschlandsberg. The center is located around the municipal office, a 19th Century building with a beautiful ridge turret. Here are some of my impressions.


The ridge turret on the roof of the Frauental municipal office is registered as national heritage of Austria. Here it is, and a beautiful day of sunshine is about to begin.



Here is a close-up of the clock with its rich decoration.



The view over the hilly landscape of Southern Styria, famous for its vineyards.







Just across the road from the municipal office is the “Mothership of Mary Catholic Church” of Frauental in the crisp and cool January morning sun. It was built in 1954, but the altar inside is from the 17th century. This church is also among the five items under national protection in Frauental.



Frosty fields around a typical family house in the area. Frauental has a long and rich history dating back to Celtic times. Archaeological evidence was found recently, during the construction of the “Koralm-Tunnel”,  one of the most spectacular railway tunnels with a length of 32.9 km, expected to be opened in 2022.

The name Frauental is also closely connected to the porcelain industry. The “Frauental Porzellanfabrik” was founded in 1921 as the “First Porcelain Production” of Austria. As a maker of high tech ceramic parts the company has managed to continue its operations until present day, now called “Ibiden Porutseran-Faburikku Furauentaaru Kabushikigaisha or イビデンポルツェランファブリックフラウエンタール株式会社”, and is fully in the hands of the Japanese Ibiden Group.

Logo of the original porcelain of Frauental over the landscape of the village.




Some images of the “Sorgerkapelle”, a chapel within the compounds of the Sorger clan, who are owners of a chain of exclusive butcher shops with their headquarters here in Frauental. This truck is ready to deliver the famous Styrian sausages all over the area.


The so called “Sorger- chapel” was built in 1816, its oval shaped frescoes were painted in 1994.
















AUREA.link 2017   All rights reserved.

Related Articles

No Comments

Leave a Reply